The short answer is it depends. It depends on which sugar we are talking about and the your interpretation of animal cruelty. Many vegans completely ban it from their diet plan. Others permit it.

First of all, the sugar of concern is refined, whitened cane sugar. What the majority of people refer to as common table sugar. About 50 % of this sugar is made with sugar cane and 50 % from sugar beets. While there is no animal component in sugar, cane sugar is filtered with bone char which might be fabricated from animal bones. Sugar produced from beets doesn’t require the same procedure involving bone char. Consequently, only cane sugar is of concern. All the other sweeteners are usually considered vegan (despite the fact that they may not be really healthy).

Some vegans consider this usage of bone char to be so far removed from the initial cause of the animals slaughter, that it shouldn’t be considered animal cruelty (somewhat like the honey concern). Others believe the usage of animals or animal by-products in any manner for human usage is unacceptable. So, the choice to utilize cane sugar or not is definitely an individual choice.

In case you object to the usage of bone char, it would seem the answer is just not to purchase refined cane sugar. But, sadly, all sugar sold at your local supermarket doesn’t state on the package if it’s cane sugar or beet sugar. If the package clearly says “beet” sugar then it really is vegan. If the package says “cane” sugar it must be considered to be filtered with bone char.

This being said, there’s another reason for anyone, vegan or not, to avoid refined white table sugar. This sugar has been processed to the point of completely removing all vitamins and minerals. It is only empty calories and has been linked to a bunch of disease and health issues.

So what can we do? We all like our sweets. The solution is to use any of a variety of other sweeteners. Organic sweeteners such as for example raw agave nectar, barley malt syrup, blackstrap molasses, brown rice syrup, date sugar, maple syrup are vegan and maintain their nutrients. Several of these sweeteners can be found in major supermarkets today.

Buying prepared sweets (pies, cakes, cookies, ice cream) is more challenging. Stay away from products containing high fructose corn syrup (it really is in nearly everything nowadays). This chemically altered component does not have any nutritional value and our bodies cannot break it down. It is suspect as causing high rate of obesity and diabetes.